The Dress: Bringing the Bride to Tears of Joy

Yes everyone, I am so excited to announce I found my wedding dress! It finally happened where I had that special moment everyone talks about. I got really overwhelmed by how beautiful it was and started to cry because I was that happy.

It all started last weekend when my fiancé and I went out to lunch in down town Redwood City in California. The view from our table looked out across the street and guess what was there? Yes, you guessed it a bridal boutique. How could I pass it up? The gorgeous white gown in the window drew me in like a fat girl to a piece of chocolate cake (I can say that because I am that girl). I asked my fiancé if he wouldn’t mind stopping in on our way out and he said, “sure”. Don’t worry he didn’t see the actual dress I chose.

The bridal boutique is called Mariel’s, which is family run and has been open for over 30 years. A mother and daughter team both named Mariel operate the store. The boutique carries designers such as La Sposa, Mori Lee, Moonlight Couture, Allure Bridal, Casablanca, Sottero Midgley, Winnie Couture and of course my dress which is a Maggie Sottero.

The day we went in after lunch they kindly let me look through all the dresses on the rack even though we had no appointment and they were quite busy. I asked the owner for an appointment for that coming Monday evening and I took the last opening.

When arriving back at the store I knew that this would be an interesting experience, since this store was filled with designer dresses with sample sizes ranging from 4 to an 8. There would be no actual trying on. Regardless, Mariel the daughter and her team of women treated me like the princess bride unexpectedly. Never did I feel uncomfortable for being plus size. They were honest with their opinions and when we found the right dress Mariel and my jaw dropped as we saw the garment beautifully against me. It was a fitted A-line gown a with corset closure. The style featured a notched neckline with a radiant beaded empire accent. The ruched bodice extended into this glamorous asymmetrical draping throughout the skirt. And the train pulls to the side hip in extraordinary fashion. It also had a bolero featuring a beaded motif on the lapel to complement the design of the dress. It was the most gorgeous thing that I have ever seen, to my taste of course. After a moment or two I realized this was it. There was no thinking or question about it. I started to tear up and I told them how happy and overwhelmed I was because I did not expect to find THE one that day. Which is why I didn’t bring anyone with me like my mother or bridesmaids. They took my measurements and information and I signed the papers acknowledging that there were no returns after ordering.

Today, Wednesday I went back in to finalize payments and pick out my veil and rhinestone headband. They are both amazing and go perfectly with the dress. I can not wait till my dress comes into the store so I can try it on with my shoes and everything. I am so happy I have checked one more thing of my wedding to do list and I can hardly wait to report back to you how the entire outfit looks. More coming soon!

Leave a comment